Press Kit

Queries
To contact Aliette directly, please use the contact form here.
Please direct queries about novel or novella rights to Aliette’s agent, John Berlyne at Zeno Agency Ltd.

Pictures

These photos are free to download and re-use for use on the internet (if you’re a publishing house, this doesn’t apply: please check with me first). Please credit the photographer, Chloe Vollmer-Lo. Click to open and save the high-res version.

Aliette’s latest:

Cover of Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances, showing a man with antlers smoulderingly leaning against a dragon statue and holding a glowing book
Title: Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances
Author: Aliette de Bodard
Publication date: June 28th, 2022
Publisher: JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
ISBN: ebook ASIN B09SQF3QBG (ebook, $4.99), ebook ISBN 9781625675750 (ebook, $4.99) Print ISBN forthcoming
Retail price: $10.99
Available In: ebook | paperback
Genre: Romantic Fantasy, Gay Fantasy

From the author of the critically acclaimed Dominion of the Fallen trilogy comes a sparkling new romantic adventure full of kissing, sarcasm and stabbing.

It was supposed to be a holiday, with nothing more challenging than babysitting, navigating familial politics and arguing about the proper way to brew tea.

But when dragon prince Thuan and his ruthless husband Asmodeus find a corpse in a ruined shrine and a hungry ghost who is the only witness to the crime, their holiday goes from restful to high-pressure. Someone is trying to silence the ghost and everyone involved. Asmodeus wants revenge for the murder; Thuan would like everyone, including Asmodeus, to stay alive.

Chased by bloodthirsty paper charms and struggling to protect their family, Thuan and Asmodeus are going to need all the allies they can—and, as the cracks in their relationship widen, they’ll have to face the scariest challenge of all: how to bring together their two vastly different ideas of their future…

A heartwarming standalone book set in a world of dark intrigue.

A Note on Chronology
Spinning off from the Dominion of the Fallen series, which features political intrigue in Gothic devastated Paris, this book stands alone, but chronologically follows Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders. It’s High Gothic meets C-drama in a Vietnamese inspired world—perfect for fans of Mo Xiang Tong Xiu’s Heaven Official’s Blessing, KJ Charles, and Roshani Chokshi’s The Gilded Wolves.

Advance praise:

“A darkly delicious romp full of ghosts, murder, dragons, and romance, with a couple that just keeps getting better and better as they push each other to new limits.”

Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Scales and Sensibility

Bios for re-use
50-word bio:
Aliette de Bodard writes speculative fiction: she has won three Nebula Awards, an Ignyte Award, a Locus Award and five British Science Fiction Association Awards. Her most recent book is Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances (JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc., forthcoming June 28th, 20222), a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court. She lives in Paris.

90-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris. She has won three Nebula Awards, an Ignyte Award, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and five British Science Fiction Association Awards.

Her most recent book is Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances (JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc., forthcoming June 28th, 20222), a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court. She also wrote Fireheart Tiger (Tor.com, 2021 BSFA Award winner), a sapphic romantic fantasy inspired by pre colonial Vietnam, where a diplomat princess must decide the fate of her country, and her own. She lives in Paris.

150-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris. She has won three Nebula Awards, an Ignyte Award, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and five British Science Fiction Association Awards.

Her most recent book is Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances (JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc., forthcoming June 28th, 20222), a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court. She also wrote Fireheart Tiger (Tor.com, 2021 BSFA Award winner), a sapphic romantic fantasy inspired by pre colonial Vietnam, where a diplomat princess must decide the fate of her country, and her own.

Her space opera books include The Tea Master and the Detective (2018 Nebula Award winner, 2018 British Fantasy Award winner, 2019 Hugo Award finalist).

300-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris, where she has a day job as a System Architect. She studied Computer Science and Applied Mathematics, but moonlights as a writer of speculative fiction. Aliette has won three Nebula Awards,an Ignyte Award, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and five British Science Fiction Association Awards.

Her most recent book is Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances (JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc., forthcoming June 28th, 20222), a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court. She also wrote Fireheart Tiger (Tor.com, 2021 BSFA Award winner), a sapphic romantic fantasy inspired by pre colonial Vietnam, where a diplomat princess must decide the fate of her country, and her own.

She is the author of the Dominion of the Fallen trilogy, set in a turn-of-the-century Paris devastated by a magical war–which comprises The House of Shattered Wings (Roc/Gollancz, 2015 British Science Fiction Association Award, Locus Award finalist), and The House of Binding Thorns (Ace/Gollancz, 2017 European Science Fiction Society Achievement Award, Locus award finalist), and The House of Sundering Flames.

Her short story collection Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight is out from Subterranean Press.

Her space opera books also include The Tea Master and the Detective (2018 Nebula Award winner, 2018 British Fantasy Award winner, 2019 Hugo Award finalist), a murder mystery set on a space station in a Vietnamese Galactic empire, inspired by the characters of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

She lives in Paris with her family, in a flat with more computers than warm bodies, and a set of Lovecraftian tentacled plants intent on taking over the place. In what little is left of her spare time, she wrangles kids and cooks Franco-Vietnamese food. Hobbies include board games, tai chi/chi gong, and devouring books.

Misc

Correct pronunciation of Aliette de Bodard:

Press

“SF is lucky to have Aliette de Bodard.”

Alastair Reynolds

“…a writer who, in a career of barely more than a decade, has shown remarkable versatility, shifting from the multiple award-winning, far-future space opera settings of her Xuya series to the Dominion of the Fallen fantasy novels, which seem to occupy a territory no one had suspected was even there, somewhere between John Milton and Victor Hugo.”

Gary K Wolfe, Locus

“Aliette de Bodard is truly one of science fiction’s greatest treasures. Her writing is beautiful, with a gorgeous, true sense of place and an imaginative conceit unlike any other I’ve seen in SF.”

Jeremy Brett, Ancillary Review of Books

“Aliette de Bodard is constantly not only revisiting but reinventing her own Xuya universe and one of her many, many qualities as a writer is this beautiful mix of modern futures with on-going traditions.”

Ana Grilo, Kirkus

“A French-Vietnamese Paris-based science fiction author who lives in Paris but writes in English and is fast becoming one of the news stars of the genre, garnering awards and nominations in her wake.”

Maxim Jakubowksi, Crime Time

Awards